Skip to main content

Graduation Day-2014, TJC

T, John College celebrated its annual Graduation Day on 4th April, 2014, with a convocation ceremony organized at the main auditorium. Nearly 400 students were part of the Graduation Ceremony along with their parents and various invitees.

His Excellency Nobuaki Yamamoto, Consulate and Head of Consulate- Consulate of Japan, Bangalore was the Chief Guest of the day. Prof. Thomas George, Vice- Chairman, Academic Advisory Board, T. John College was the special invitee.

The event began with the Graduation Day march by the dignitaries to the tune of T. John’s Anthem. The ceremonial lamp lighting by the Chief Guest, Chairman Dr. Thomas P. John, Prof. Thomas George, Wg. Cdr. (Rtd) David A.K Yohan, and Principal T. John College Dr. Shikha Tiwari.

The chairman in his address to the students congratulated them and reminded them of the goals to be achieved. Dr. Nilanjana Basu, Vice- Principal T. John College, introduced the honorable chief guest His Excellency Nobuaki Yamamoto. In his address to the gathering the chief guest highlighted the need to enhance Indo-Japanese collaboration in the field of education.

The Principal Dr. Shikha Tiwari delivered the oath to the students. The two University Rankers for the year 2012-2013 Shatakshi Gupta of BHM 3rd rank and Natali Galahitiyawa of FAD 9th rank, were felicitated for bringing laurels to the college at the hands of the Chief Guest.

The Chief Guest also gave away the prize to the ten achievers of the various departments of the college. The students were Johnson Muralidharan (MBA), Yashwant Balan (MCA), Maria Antony (M,Sc B.T), Divya G (M.Sc. Bio-Chem), Mithila (B.Sc FAD), Niju Abraham (BA .JEP), Niraj Thakur (BBM), Utsab Pandey (BHM), Denil Limbu (BCA), Kalpani Yashodara (B.Sc BT).

Wg. Cdr. (Rtd) Daid A.K Yohan declared open the award for the most popular teacher of T. John College 2013-2014. The award was given to Ms. Pooja Basnett, Journalism Faculty of Department of Languages and Student Grievance Cell Coordinator in recognition of her contribution to the College. The chief guest gave away the award.

The certificates were handed over to the graduating students by the various dignitaries.

Ms. Sucharitha Banerjee, Director BHM proposed the vote of thanks.

Ms. Niji Nelson, Ms. Bovina Sunath and Ms. Charu Kapoor were the comperes of the day.

The event culminated with the National Anthem followed by a gala dinner at the TJGI Church basement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *